Coke vs. Pepsi

When thinking about my first post for the BRAG Blog, I had a hard time deciding what to post about. Fair Elections; Lt. Ehren Watada; the failure of mass media to serve the people of this country; the Fascist Neocon hijacking of our country; all the LIES coming from the right; specific issues, propositions or candidates in this election cycle? All of these are important issues that we must address, and that I feel strongly about. But when thinking about one – just ONE – thing that represents the greatest, most pressing, most revolutionary subject for a premier post that would best represent me and introduce our new blog in the manner I felt most fitting, I decided on the political party with whom I am registered: the Green Party.

Green Party Header

See for yourself what they stand for by reading their 10 Key Values. See how they stand up to corruption and demand justice in the face of a criminal regime by calling for the Impeachment of Bush. This statement from their website indicates their commitment to serving the people of this nation: “The Green Party does not accept donations from corporate PACs or their lobbyists. This means we listen to you instead of big business.”

Finally, think about what it would mean to have more than two parties to choose from. Wouldn’t that be more representative of our incredibly diverse populous, a more accurate reflection of our so-called melting pot? A melting pot where the rich, white cream floats luxuriantly upon the muddy, boiling, toiling cauldron of trouble. Why are the two ruling parties so opposed to other parties participating in the American process that is called the great experiment?

“Currently, the presidential debates are secretly controlled by the major parties, through the private bipartisan corporation called the Commission on Presidential Debates, resulting in the stultification of format, the exclusion of popular candidates, and the avoidance of pressing national issues. The major party candidates never pay a political price for their antidemocratic practices; posing as an independent sponsor, the Commission on Presidential Debates shields the major party candidates from public criticism and public accountability.” – Source: OpenDebates.org

Here is an overview of third parties in the US.

So, while in the coming weeks, months and maybe even years, I will post about more pressing, specific and germane matters at hand, often in support of a Democratic Party candidate or already-elected official, let it be known that I, the mighty Tekstone, see a brighter future where more than just the corporate powers and uber-wealthy are represented… where more than just Heinz and Halliburton hold the stage of American politics… where we the American people have a choice much more profound and pertinent to OUR lives than whether we want to drink Coke or Pepsi. Some days I want an organic IPA. Other days I feel like quaffing a fine red wine. And other days I am perfectly happy to drink Nature’s greatest gift to humanity – the one true “nectar of the gods”: clean, cool water.

2 Responses to Coke vs. Pepsi

  1. Matt says:

    As someone who used to be a registered Green, I sympathize somewhat with the sentiments of this post. That said, I strongly disagree with the conclusions you have reached. To me, it doesn’t matter whether the platform of the Green Party matches my values more than the platform of the Democratic Party. The fact of the matter is that we live in a two-party system and so opting out of the Democratic Party only allows it to move that much more to the Right. You think the Democratic Party is in the pocket of big business. And while that is certainly true of a lot of Democratic politicians, the Party itself (well there are actually a multitude of state parties) is very porous and open to regular people.

    Furthermore, there are clearly internal divisions within the Democratic Party, especially between progressives on one hand and conservatives and moderates on the other hand. You will see a country that is closer to your values if the progressive Dems win these battles. But by affiliating with the Green Party you are making it much more difficult to meaningfully help Progressive Dems win these battles, thereby perpetuating what you dislike about the Party.

    In sum, I’m a Democrat precisely because I see the Democratic Party, writ large, as a corrupt party unreflective of my values. However, I believe that a strong, vibrant and renewed Democratic Party can halt our country’s lurch to the Right. Furthermore, I know from my own experience that I can meaningfully change the character of the Democratic Party by working from within it. And there are a tremendous number of progressives in the East Bay who’ve come to the same conclusion within the last couple of years.

  2. tekstone says:

    Matt

    I appreciate your viewpoint and agree with much of what you are saying. I, too, have and will continue to support Democratic candidates (as I mention in my post). I, too, would like to work to change the Democratic Party by voting for the more progressive Democrats.

    To clarify, however, I am not advocating that all progressives join the Green Party or boycott the Democratic Party. In fact, I am not advocating a “we v. them” stance at all.

    As my post states, I simply envision a “brighter future” where our political system is made up of several different parties that can more effectively represent the various different citizens and sub-cultures that already exist in this country.

    I am not very impressed with the way the two ruling parties are treating other parties: not letting them play in their reindeer games. That is not nice. There is nothing in our Constitution that limits our system to two parties, so that begs the question:

    Why do we only have two political parties?

    In my opinion, that serves primarily to concentrate power and keep challengers with “radical” ideas from being heard or represented. And by “radical” I mean such things as Universal Health Care, Environmental Protection and Peace, etc.

Leave a Reply

