What to Say when They Call

The Democratic Party has started already with the calling for donations.  I know I’m going to get a whole lot more calls in the coming months as we get closer and closer to E-day.  So are you most likely.

I have decided that I am not going to give to anybody that calls themselves a Democrat.  Why?  Because they are complicit in the criminal/psychotic situation we find ourselves in presently.  Whether it’s our illegal, immoral occupation of a soverign, oil-rich nation half-way around the world that is causing thousands of deaths and dismemberments of our own people (not to mention the innocent Iraqi population) or our own home-grown hijacking of the US Constitution by the insane criminal neocons who call themselves Republicans – the Democrats are not doing everything they could be doing… everything they should be doing to change things.

Okay they didn’t have the votes to override the veto of the troop withdrawl bill… but they could have fillibustered if they really wanted to get the job done.

They may not have all the votes necessary to impeach Bush, Cheney and Gonzales (yeah! all at the same time!  that’s what I’m talking about!) – but they could put the proposal up for consideration and see what kind of response they get… get the dialogue started – a motion of historic proportions.

That’s the kind of stuff that would send a message to me, my fellow Americans and the rest of the world that the Democrats are serious about fixing the problems we face instead of just giving us lip service.

So, when the DSCC or a Democratic campaign calls me for a donation I say something like, “NO.  I will not give you any money until you start impeaching the criminals in the White House that are ruining our country and destroying its reputation.  Get on the ball!” or “NO.  If you are going to continue to roll over for this adminstration on issues like our illegal occupation of Iraq, you will get nothing out of me.  Shape up and start getting this thing done: Bring Home Our Troops NOW!”

6 Responses to What to Say when They Call

  1. A.Citizen says:

    So when the Charlie Brown campaign asks for our help yer jes gonna say, ‘Nah, yer not Democratic enough for me!’

    That’ll work….

    For Doolittle.

  2. tekstone says:

    uh, what?

    Brown can talk all he wants. He ain’t in office and he ain’t done jack shit. The Dems will say everything you want to hear to get your money and your vote. Then they get in office, and, oh snap! their hands are tied. They can’t do all the things they said they would. Don’t have the votes… wouldn’t be prudent… thier assigned mentors can’t approve of that type of ‘radical’ move… they don’t have the kind of sway or seniority to do all the grandiose things they talked about on the campaign trail… they have to look out for their future, after all.

    Go ahead give ’em your money, man.

    I told you how I see it.

  3. A.Citizen says:

    Pretty dark and hopeless under that bed there t. I’ve talked to Brown personally…I’ve talked to MeNerney personally…about the war…I believe they are men of their word and are working in Jerry’s case and would work to end the war in Charlie’s. I read the Federalist Papers…The Founders didn’t want Congress to be able to take fast action on anything. So our constitutional system is not set up to do so.

    This doesn’t mean that I approve of the many Dems who are waffling or not doing all they could or should to stop the war. I don’t.

    But I’m not interested in those Dems. I’m interested in the ones who see things my way and are acting on their views. Brown is one such I believe. I’ll take my personal assessment of the man up close and personal over your ReThuglican enabling rant delivered from such a distance that we can barely see you.

    I’m gonna work to elect more Dems like Jerry and Charlie. Like Tim Ryan…like Barbara Lee….like Sherrod Brown…like Debra Bowen. Like John Edwards. And eventually we progressives will prevail. Because only when we work to put our people, our people t, in office will this system be changed. Not playing the game is exactly what Rove and the Republicans would welcome. It’s exactly what I did after Nixon left and the Dems let him walk. I turned my back on the political process in disgust.

    And gee didn’t the next thirty years culminating in Bush’s election turn out well.

    That’s how I see it.

  4. tekstone says:

    no. you are the one playing the game… buying the three card monte trick the dems have become masters of.

    whatever makes you happy.

    i tell them on the phone that i won’t give again until they all start following up on their campaign rhetoric. what should that do? it should tell them what they need to do in order to get the dollars rolling in like they want.

    you keep sending your dollars over to the current “most-liberalist-democrat-for-now” like a dog chasing its tail. you like so-and-so today but not the next. step back and think about it, citizen…

    how can you like candidate A one day, B the next, C the day afte that… then you are back stuffing money into A’s campaign because they said something you dig… then B’s campaign because they said something you dig… then you bitch about A because they didn’t do what they said they were going to…

    yeah, you guys screwed up in the 70’s… but don’t make the same mistake.

    stick to your guns. send the scum to jail and don’t stand for mere rhetoric. until they send the fuckers to jail, i ain’t sending them jack shit. talk is cheap, so i am not trying to buy it.

    i am not turning my back on the political system like you say. i am voicing my view and not backing down. i am telling them: “hey, you don’t do what you said you would do… so you don’t get your Scooby-snack. when you do what you said you would, I’ll be the first guy in line to sign a check for your campaign.”

    since public financing is a mere fantasy at this point anyway…

  5. A.Citizen says:

    Well…you seem determined to keep this about ‘your money’. I guess that’s fine. But politicians do understand that the vote is the most important thing. Myself, I don’t see that all the Democrats in office fall under your categorization as: ‘…you didn’t do what you said you’d do….’ Please try to understand that while many Dems are guilty of not even trying to do ‘what they said they’d do…’ others are working hard to do just that. You don’t seem to be able to grasp the fact that our Democratic legislators are individuals not robots taking orders from above such as the Republicans do.

    It’s clear you are not grasping the central point of my response when I say,

    yeah, you guys screwed up in the 70’s… but don’t make the same mistake.

    The mistake was in doing exactly what you are advocating we should do. Not participate in the political process. Contributing to political campaigns whether in money or time and effort is the duty of every citizen because that’s how the political process works. Always has worked that way. Always will work that way. Even if public financing existed what difference would that make to you. You are saying that because the political process is not resulting in the outcome you want you will not participate.

    That’s fine but remember….

    That means you don’t count.

  6. A.Citizen says:

    Flash Update: Many are expressing the same perspective as Mr. t is about ‘Spineless Dems’ over at OrangeLand. I took a little time and fired off this comment: Whatya want homer…Cheese with yer whine? Perhaps not one of my very best comments but it gets to what I’ve been trying to lay out here.

    And it was fun.

    I’m back to net/grassroots organizing now. The time for bloviating is at an end.

    For everyone.

Leave a Reply

